Olay Total Effects – Testing, Testing, 1,2…3?

Review: Olay Total Effects 7 in 1 Anti-Aging Daily Moisturizer.

Note: I have been using this product for nearly 2 months, every day- often twice a day, according to the product recommendations. I have minor fine wrinkling around the eyes, nothing deep-set so I was really focused on seeing an improvement in that localized area.

Price Point – Good 3/5

I bought this on sale along with a face cleanser for $20.00 CAD. Typically the moisturizer alone sells for $28.00, so based on the regular price I would say GOOD, on the sale price I would say EXCELLENT.

Scent – Amazing 5/5

This product comes in a fragrance-free formula which ultimately smells like sunscreen. I personally prefer fragrance free so this was a bonus for me.

Moisturizing Properties – Fair 2/5

Results – 3/5

The Verdict

I would say this product is ok – just ok.  It’s marketed as a moisturizer but I found that it’s moisturizing properties were lacking. Depending on the type of climate you live in (mine is quite dry) this product could easily be insufficient.  On the plus side it does absorb quite quickly and leaves the skin feeling smooth and soft but within a few minutes of applying I was compelled to reapply because my skin was feeling dry and tight again. Result-wise I can’t say I have noticed a difference in the wrinkles. After my skin went through the rebellious phase of breaking out and getting extra dry, which happens every time I introduce a new skin cream, it looked the same. The fine lines around my eyes were unchanged and as far as prevention goes, it’s sort of a “catch-22.”  If I continue to use it my lines may never get worse but I’ll never know if it’s my genes or the product and if I stop using it and they worsen I’ll never know if the product would have prevented it. That is how the anti-aging market works though, isn’t it? You’re damned if you do and you’re damned if you don’t! I feel like prevention is the way to go if you start preventing at about 20 years of age, but if you already have some damage then you need to do repair and prevention, otherwise you’ll never know if you are actually spending your money on a product that works. So go for something that promises visible results in a reasonable time and consider taking before and after photos to really test it. I gave the product a 3 out of 5 for results because although the anti-aging aspect of the product didn’t blow my mind in the least, it did improve my skin’s overall texture and appearance.  I have decided not to continue with this product and will instead be moving onto something that has visible restoring properties as I find prevention-only products require you to invest a lot of faith in their capacity to actually prevent,

JoMP Photography.

and I am a girl who needs to see change to believe something is changing!

What are the Experts Saying?

“The number one thing is prevention. If you put all your money into fixing what time and the sun does to your face and you don’t back up that repair with an oxide sunscreen, damage will continue and only get worse. Oxides include; zinc, silica, or titanium so you should be looking for these ingredients in your skin repair and aging-prevention products. Over time low grade ultra violet A (UVA) rays penetrate skin and cause a loss in collagen which leads to sagging and wrinkles; oxide sunscreens block that penetration. A daily moisturizer that has vitamin A is also good idea. This will help to moisturize and slowly rebuild collagen over time. C&E peptides are also good to lighten, tighten and brighten your skin, so having those in a product is a bonus.  Keep in mind that UV rays can penetrate through glass, cause skin cancer, brown spots, freckles, rosacea and wrinkles, so finding a great daily product is not only key to looking younger but also for your general skin health and well-being.” Asya Ford, RN Dermatology.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty Product Reviews

Let's talk about it! What are your thoughts?

